Adam’s Sermon to His Parents

On this gorgeous Sunday morning, Adam woke up with a burr in his bottom or a bee in his bonnet.  Call it what you want–he just had quite the uncooperative attitude about getting dressed so that we could take a well-earned day off to explore Lynchburg, VA and Lovingston, VA.

Fortunately, both Larry and I were endowed with enormous amounts of patience this morning–that doesn’t happen very often on the same day for both of us that just happens to coincide with the stubborn streak that Adam can whip out of his bag of magic tricks in the blink of an eye.  We both continued to get ready while a mini-meltdown ebbed and flowed in Adam’s bedroom.  I was already experiencing visions in my head that this episode would set the tone for the remainder of the day.  Lord, where was that fun that I had anticipated our family experiencing today?  Did autism really need to rear its menacing head today?  Really?!?!

The last several years have been filled with quite a bit of maturing for Adam and he has come to understand that life doesn’t always go his way–that his time table may have to be put on hold for someone else’s time table.  So, as the mini-meltdown quieted to a very low growl, neither Larry nor I were surprised when Adam emerged from his bedroom fully dressed before his timer went off.

We have taught Adam that he must ask for forgiveness when he has had a “burr in his bottom” moment and it’s not uncommon that he will voluntarily offer an apology which is precisely what he did this morning.  Larry and I were not prepared for what happened next.  The young man clasped two hands together, uttered a couple of sentences in which we heard, “I sorry” and then closed with “Amen”.

Larry and I just looked at each other and then thanked God that we had a sermon from our son before we ever headed out the door. “Then I acknowledged my sin to you and did not cover up my iniquity.” I said, “I will confess my transgressions to the LORD. And you forgave the guilt of my sin.” (Psalm 32:5 – NIV)  Personally, I needed to be reminded of this Bible verse. Oh, and the day of exploring?  Well, we think God blessed a young man’s obedience . . .

While strolling on Main Street in Lynchburg, VA, we discover unique pianos on the sidewalk for the public to play and enjoy . . .

While strolling on Main Street in Lynchburg, VA, we discover unique pianos on the sidewalk for the public to play and enjoy.

Adam experiencing his own  form of paradise.

Adam experiencing his own form of paradise.

 

"Fun is good." (Dr. Seuss)

“Fun is good.” (Dr. Seuss)

Amen.

Amen.

Leave a Reply

